- Casa: Batroun
- Distance from Beirut: 59-70 km
- Altitude: 810-1250 m
- Access: Jbail – Amchit –Al Madfoun – Rachana – Kfifane – Toula – Al Douq
The name of Douq is derived from the Syriac language, dawqa meaning “the view” or “the observers”, becaue of the beautiful view of the sea from the village. An ancient village that includes ruins dating back to the Canaanite and post-Canaanite eras. It seems that Douq was not inhabited in the 16th century AD. The current inhabitants of Douq were originally from Ghalboun and came into possession of the village in 1763, and it is said that they bought it from the people of Maad who owned it at the time. They moved in after the migration of the Hamadiyeen from the region. Some of the following ruins have been discovered in Douq up to now: rock-carved cemeteries, catacombs (discovered accidentally at the beginning of the 21st century near St. Michael’s parish), old grape presses probably dating back to the pre-Roman era, and several Roman coins.
- Mar Mikhail Parish Church (St. Michael):
Its west front was hit by 17 missiles in 1980, during the war. It is worth mentioning here that the church holds some important ruins dating back to the first Christian generation, a reliquary placed between the stones of the northern wall of the altar and a sharp cross on a stone south of the altar. It also contains the cross of St. Simon.
Festivals for St. Michael’s feast are celebrated on the 6th of September.
Contact Mrs. Katia Touma for the key: (06/530 032)
- Saydet Al Sahlat Church (Our Lady Church):
An old church, some are trying to change the name to “Saydet Al Tashilat” (Our Lady of Facilities). The present church was renovated in 1913. From the inside, the church is groin- vaulted with one aisle and a flat apse. The altarpiece is a painting of the Virgin, copied from the famous original of Murillo. On the right frieze of the apse hangs a painting of the Virgin and Child (Mother of Good Counsel), above a statue of the Immaculate Conception. Near the church lie the ruins of the old church of Our Lady, which seems to have been a Phoenician temple transformed by Christians into a
church dedicated to Our Lady. The old edifice is distinguished by colossal stones, similar to those that distinguished ancient Phoenician temples. Contact Mrs. Katia Touma for the key: (06/530 032).
Local productions: Honey, oil and olives, homemade jam.
Local agricultures: Vegetables, grapes, olives, almonds.
Guided visit to the beehives to discover the honey production system:
Mrs. Caroline Asmar Tanios (06/530 027)
Eid El Saydeh: (Feast of the Assumption of Our Lady) is celebrated on the 14th of August, and is followed by a traditional dinner.
Mr. Michel Semaan (03/361 360)
St. Michael’s feast is celebrated on September 5 and followed by a traditional dinner Mr. Michel Semaan (03/361 360).
Saj Toni Tanios, (manakish): (03/506 619)
Bakery and pastery: Mr. Naji Touma (03/361 822) Mrs. Hyam Touma (78/987 261)
Mini Market and butcher shop (06/530 408)
“Beit El Wakf” (endowment house): available rooms to welcome groups with sleeping bags. Contact Father Elie Saadeh (03/867 386)
Mrs. Caroline Asmar Tanios (06/ 530 027). You can discover honey production and sales, guided visit to the beehives, and oak honey tasting with home-brewed coffee and homemade honey-based dessert.
Mrs. Katia Touma: 06/530 032